This post is written out of pure hatred; pure hatred toward the law. I wasn’t arrested again or anything like that, but a previous incident keeps coming back to haunt me: my DWI. For those who don’t know, I got a DWI on December 6, 2010. On December 16, 2010, I went to court and was hit with a seven month loss of license and was ordered to have an interlock device put in my car for twelve months. This was the maximum penalty. Yes, I did have a lawyer, but he had about as much worth in that court room as the dried up mouse shit lining the borders of the room.
The reason I’m writing about my DWI fourteen months later is because tomorrow morning, a total of $1,232.00 will come out of my bank account. Why? Because fourteen months ago I drank a few too many beers. If you’re thinking this total is so high because there are a bunch of different fines, you are wrong. This large total is only two different payments. The first: $1,000 for New Jersey surcharge. It’s exactly what it sounds like. It’s just a surcharge. There is no other reason. In the state of New Jersey, anyone who gets a DUI or DWI has to pay $1,000 per year for three years. And the second: My bi-monthly cost for my interlock device. It costs $116 per month to have a court ordered inconvenience in my car. Cool. So tomorrow I will be furious with the state of New Jersey for continuing to punish me for a mistake I made over a year ago. And they will continue to punish me for the next two years. With outrageous fines like these, I wonder how this state is in so much debt? But, whatever. I’ll just shut up and pay. If New Jersey only knew I’m a much better driver when I’m drunk…
No comments:
Post a Comment