Tuesday, January 10, 2012

At least good things like this happen

The last post was all about finances, and how horrible mine are. So there is no way that just two days later, I would have more money problems. That would just be insane. But wait…what? I do!? I do have more money issues TWO FUCKING DAYS LATER!?!?

As you’re probably well aware, I don’t pay off my student loans. I should, I just don’t. They cost too much. If I can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel, I’m not going for it. And considering I don’t have a steady income, I don’t see that light. I don’t want to work out some payment plan and make payments for a year just to run into the same problem if my money flow stops. It would piss me off even more if I worked at improving my credit score for a while, just to have it go right down the shitter again after one missed payment.
All that being said, I have been paying off one loan. It was a loan from one semester of community college. My parents paid for all of my community college semesters, except one. They made me pay for my second semester, since my grades from the first semester were so shitty. They were horrible.

If you think about it, my second semester of college was in 2004. It was forever ago. I didn’t start paying these monthly payments until last year; seven years later. Pretty pathetic. But the minimum payment was only $51.00/month. So I figured I’d give it a try. After all, it had been seven years.
The total amount I owed back was about $1,300. And I was making $51 payments for a while, but it seemed like it was taking forever to pay it off. In December, I received my statement in the mail. The balance was now down to $542.73. I sold a ton of drugs the previous few weeks, so I had some money. I’m kidding. But I did have money; enough to pay off the whole loan. So I did.

On December 7th, I sent out a check for the remaining balance on my account. And on December 13th, that check went through. I had a large smile on my face. For once, I was being responsible and taking care of something that had to be done. I was actually pretty excited to get something in the mail noticing me of my account being closed out. On December 21st, I received a piece of mail from them. I was excited. I opened it: “Dear Borrower. It appears that you are not responding to out earlier demands for payment…” What the fuck?

Umm, okay. I was confused. So I called. I had a very nice lady come on the phone. And by nice, I mean a bitch. She sounded like she was trying to break a record for most cigarettes smoked in a lifetime; her voice was as deep as mine. I explained to her what had happened: that I sent the check, it was cashed, and that there must have been a mix up. As much as I tried explaining it to her, she insisted it was something wrong on my end and the only thing I could do was get copies of everything and fax them in. So I did. And that would put an end to it.
On January 3rd, another piece of mail came from them. This time, it came in a large 8 ½ x 11 envelope. This must be the finalizing papers or something. I was actually excited to open it. So I did. “Dear Borrower. Enclosed are the documents advising you of our intention to withhold from your wages…” Are you fucking kidding me!? People piss me the fuck off! So I called again. Well, attempted to call. I called three times and every call ended the same. I would call, be put on hold for about ten minutes, then a message would come up saying all operators are busy and to call back later. Three separate times today. Bullshit!

Did they wrongfully send this letter to everyone, and that’s why everyone was calling today? I’m not sure. But this is bullshit. The check was cashed over four weeks ago, and these idiots still are unaware of it. Where the hell did the money go? Did they put it in someone else’s account? Isn’t that why accounts are separated by social security number!?
Anyway, the whole fucking thing is annoying. Now you know why I don’t bother to do the right thing. Because when I do, shit like this happens.

No comments:

Post a Comment